top of page

Engineering a Better Fidget Toy

Updated: Feb 14, 2019

The research we did was make fidget spinners on the computer with OnShape and then print them with a 3D printer. People use fidget spinners to entertain themselves and just for fun or to help them with a disorder or something. An alternative to fidget spinners is Slime, Bead Ball, DIY Jewelry and more. The different type of fidget toys that exist are Magnetic Thinking Putty, A liquid motion bubbler fidget toy, and more.


The problem definition was the the thickness of the fidget spinner and the length of the circle where the bearing has to fit . The thing I was trying to accomplish with this project was make a good fidget spinner. The steps to making this fidget spinner was going to OnShape and making a practice one to see how we do it first and all the steps. Then doing my own fidget spinner. I had to make the the circle a size and to make sure all the sizes were the same because I made mine look like a star. Then I went to Cura and transferred my design into Cura and then the teacher gave us a USB and a card to transfer our design to the card then to the 3D printer. Finally we printed our fidget spinner.


The failures that I had was the size of the circle where the bearing didn't fit it was to small and the size of the fidget spinner like the thickness of it where it was to skinny and to thick. The success was at the end where I got the right thickness and the right size where the bearing fit. The change I did between tests was the looking at the different measurements of the my old ones and finally getting it right.








1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page